Derek Bucharski Memorial Award

In 2008, Vermilion lost one of its most passionate soccer players in Derek Bucharski. In his honour, his family created the "Derek Bucharski Memorial Award for Dedication and Team Spirit". This award is to be given out each year to four individuals (one from each of U13, U15, U17 and U19) who stand out on their respective teams for their dedication and team spirit (such as a positive attitude and good practice attendance). Each recipient receives a small gift and has their name put on a plaque, which can be seen inside the shack.

Derek Bucharski was a member of the Vermilion Soccer Association for 9 years as a player on the youth teams (indoor and outdoor) and Vermilion Men's Team. He loved soccer and was a skillful player. He was also a referee for our association and volunteered along with his parents Mary and Joe. He lost his life in a tragic accident on July 1, 2008. In his memory, his family wants to remember him by presenting these awards to other players who love the game of soccer as fervently as Derek.

The 2019 recipients are;

U13: Brooke Perron

U15: Hannah McCagherty

U17: Cameron Hyshka

U19: Abygale Durie

Past recipients are as follows :


U11: Tomas Liemenberg

U13: Kira Jaremco

U15: Shelby Cartier

U17/U19: Evan Evangelista


U12: Colin Roach

U14: Clay Bryden

U16: Megan Krys

U18: Breanna Rainey


U12: Madison Tovell

U14: Alyx Ward

U16: Ty Stenhouse

U18: Ossman Abuzukar


U12: Madison Shimko

U14: Tristan Shomachuk

U16: Shauna Weimann

U18: Taylor Heinrich


U12: Brody Young

U14: Shae Collins

U16: Jessica Kingston

U18: Ryan Sherwood


U12: Daniel Zhao

U14: Jordan Bush

U16: Matthew Pulyk

U18: Dustin Stenne


U12: Tessa Rae Hartwell

U14: Michael McCrae

U16: Chad Andreychuk

U18: Amy Chase


U12: Shae Collins

U14: Kennedy Smart

U16: Logan Sherwood

U18: Michel Hynek


U12: Tyra King

U14: Brandon Cooksen

U16: Kayley Brodbin

U18: Ryan Okkema


U12: Darius Howanyk

U14: Heidi Stoyko

U16: Paul Lord

U18: Rebecca Smith

Congratulations to all of the winners for demonstrating the qualities that made them worthy of this award!